Who’s Who in the Tax Office



Cheryl E. Johnson, RTA

Galveston County Tax Assessor/Collector

722 Moody Avenue, Galveston, Texas 77550

(409) 766-2260 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284


To schedule an appointment, program or to meet with Cheryl E. Johnson, please contact her assistant at: Ute.schaefer@co.galveston.tx.us


Business Services

Sheryl Swift, RTA, Chief Deputy of Business Services

Oversight of Administration, Voter Registration & Accounting Departments; responsible for development and maintenance of internal policies & procedures, auditing and personnel related matters. 

(409) 766-2474 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284

Email: Sheryl.Swift@co.galveston.tx.us



Ute Schaefer, Administrative Support Supervisor

Includes:  Provides coordination & support between departments and also provides administrative support to Tax Assessor Collector (scheduling of appointments, speaking engagements, etc.)

(409) 766-2260 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284

Email: Ute.Schaefer@co.galveston.tx.us



Barbara Lively, Senior Accountant

Barbara Lively, Senior Accountant

Includes:  Balancing receipts, preparing reports and issuing disbursements for local property taxes (and special inventory taxes), State sales taxes and fees for motor vehicles, TABC and other essential banking functions (including handling of returned checks).

 (409) 766- 2343 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284

Email:  Barbara.Lively@co.galveston.tx.us


Voter Registration

Dominique Allen, Senior Voter Registration Specialist

All voter registration functions including maintenance of voter registration records, volunteer registrar training and election support.

(409) 766-2280 or Toll Free (888) 976-2280

Email:  Dominique.Allen@co.galveston.tx.us



Deborah Pimentel, Chief Deputy of Operations

Includes:  All branch operations and services including motor vehicle registration and titling, property tax payment processing,  renewals and titles, handicap placards, beer & wine permits, and coin operated machine stickers.

(409) 766-2487 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284

Email: Deborah.Pimentel@co.galveston.tx.us


Property Tax

Rachel F. Crider, RPA, Chief Deputy of Property Tax
Includes:   All property tax related issues including account information, installment payment agreements, sheriff sale, bankruptcy and tax rate adoption. 

(409) 766-2476 or Toll Free (877) 766-2284

Email:  Rachel.Crider@co.galveston.tx.us