Cheryl E. Johnson, RTA
Galveston County Tax Assessor/Collector
722 Moody Avenue, Galveston, Texas 77550
Toll Free (877) 766-2284 Fax (409) 766-2479

Sheryl Swift, RTA                              Chief Deputy of Business Services(409) 766-2474  

Deborah Pimentel                                     Chief Deputy of Operations             (409) 766-2487 

Rachael Crider RPA                         Chief Deputy Property Tax             (409) 766-2476 

Departments:       Accounting                                            (409)766-2344

    Administration                                         (877) 766-2284               

 Property Tax                                          (409) 766-2481

 Voter Registration                              Toll Free:                                                  (888) 976-2280                                       (409) 766-2280

 Branch Office Locations:               Open weekdays 8 am to 5 pm

 Galveston Courthouse
722 Moody Avenue
Galveston, TX

 North County Annex                              174 Calder Road                                  League City Tx                                       

Texas City Annex                             2516 Texas Avenue                              Texas City Tx

 West Count Annex                            11730 Highway 6                               Santa Fe Tx

Satellite Office Locations:

Friendswood City Hall                     910   S. Friendswood Drive                    Friendswood Tx

Galveston County Annex                     946 Noble Carl Road                         Crystal Beach Tx


Motor Vehicle Information

The Galveston County Tax Office provides registration and titling services for nearly 300,000 vehicles on behalf of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  Proof of Texas liability insurance is required to renew a registration sticker.  When mailing (or leaving in one of our drop boxes located outside each office), please write your Texas drivers license number on the check and include a copy of your proof of insurance.


In 2009, the Legislature approved a measure to standardize registration fees all are based on vehicle weight rather than age.  More than 1,600 different registration fees were consolidated into ten groups with only one variable fee for trucks in excess of 80,000 lbs.  Beginning in August 2011, DMV registration renewal notices will reflect the new fees. 

Registration fees for passenger vehicles will now be based on weight rather than age and all passenger vehicles and light trucks (6,000 lbs or less) being charged a base fee of $50.75.  All trailers up to 6,000 lbs will all be charged a base flat fee of $45.00.  A complete fee schedule is included below:

                Passenger and Light Truck (up to 6,000 lb):

                              State Base Fee                                                                                 $50.75

                              DPS Insurance Fee                                                                               1.00

                              Automation Fee                                                                                    1.00 

                              County Road and Bridge Fund                                                            +10.00


                Trailers (up to 6,000 lb)                                                                                           

                              State Base Fee                                                                                 $45.00

                              DPS Insurance Fee                                                                               1.00

                              Automation Fee                                                                                    1.00

                              County Road and Bridge Fund                                                            +10.00



                Trucks Classified by Weight:

                              Weight                         Base Fee                  Local Fees                         Total Registration Fee

                          6,001 10,000                 $  54.00                    $12.00                                   $66.00

                        10,001 18,000                 $110.00                     $12.00                                 $122.00

                        18,001 25,999                 $205.00                     $12.00                                 $217.00

                        26,000 40,000                 $340.00                     $12.00                                 $352.00

                        40,001 54,999                 $534.00                     $12.00                                 $546.00

                        55,000 70,000                 $740.00                     $12.00                                 $755.00

                        70,001 80,000                 $840.00                     $12.00                                 $852.00

                        Over 80,000                            Varies                  $12.00                                    Varies

You may renew online by clicking on the Renew Your Vehicle Registration Online link as long as your registration has not expired. You may also visit any of our offices for your sticker or drop the renewal along with proof of insurance in any of our drop boxes. Online renewals and renewals left in drop boxes are processed within three to five days working days.   For additional information, please contact our office at (409) 766-2485, toll free at 1-877-766-2284 or send an email to

We look forward to serving you!
Cheryl E. Johnson, RTA, Galveston County Tax Assessor Collector